reading progress

Teams Connect Shared Channels

by 24 Apr, 2022Microsoft Teams, SharePoint

Shared channels are now available

Teams Connect Shared Channels have been one of the hottest topics among Microsoft 365 customers for many months. Now they are here! Shared Channels have received a lot of advance praise as they are supposed to solve some of the disadvantages of the previous Teams infrastructure and private channels:

  • only members who are also members of the Team can be invited to private channels
  • very few apps can be used in private channels
  • To join a Team that was created in another tenant, the tenant must be changed via the Tenant Switcher in the Teams. This means that important information may not be available or may be available too late if you do not regularly check the other tenants. There is no alerting via the activity feed.

To cut a long story short – the shared channels are now usable (in Germany the rollout is completed as of 24.04. according to Microsoft in all Enterprise and Business tenants). When this function is configured and set up, it looks like this to the user:

Teams Connect Shared Channels UI
Teams Connect Shared Channels UI

Shared Channels are “Public Preview” – what does that mean?

Shared Channels are not GA (general available) at the moment! GA status means that a product or feature has been tested and Microsoft provides full support. The Shared Channels have not reached this status yet. The Shared Channels are still in the so called Public Preview Status.

Public Preview means that a function is available to the public, but no support is provided by Microsoft in case of errors. Microsoft also does not give any guarantees regarding stability. Also, there might theoretically be function changes at any time. Likewise, there may still be limited functionality.

Public Preview is intended to allow customers to get an idea of a function in advance (ideally in a test tenant!) in order to decide whether it will be used for GA in their own tenant. This means:

Alle Aktionen fĂźr Shared Channels, die Sie in Ihrem Tenant vornehmen, unternehmen Sie auf eigene Gefahr!

Prerequisites

Azure B2B direct connect

Shared Channels use Azure B2B technology in the background, Microsoft has recently released Azure AD Cross-Tenant access settings for this, these include a feature called Azure AD B2B direct connect. B2B direct connect is the direct basis for using shared channels. In a nutshell, it can be said that in this Admin Center, you need to set up a trust position for the partner tenant [Note: Microsoft had announced a feature called tenant friending years ago. B2B direct connect is exactly this feature]. The technical details can be read here.

If this position of trust has been set, then direct connect can be explicitly enabled for a company. It is important to know here: B2B direct connect is disabled by default for everyone! This means that each “partner” tenant must be explicitly set up:

Teams Connect Shared Channels B2B direct connect defaults
B2B direct connect settings

To avoid opening your tenant to everyone, you can maintain your partners in a separate list and activate the functions individually:

Teams Connect Shared Channels B2B direct individual
AAD Cross Tenant access settings – individual tenant settings

Now it is possible to set individually (inbound and outbound) for each partner which functions are used, this also concerns the shared channels – through the B2B direct connect tab:

Teams Connect Shared Channels B2B direct connect inbound outbund
B2B direct connect individual settings

Teams Preview Mode

However, just setting up B2B direct connect is not enough, there is still one important setting missing in the Teams Admin Center. Shared channels are only available when the Teams client is running in preview mode. In order for these preview features to become available in the client, they need to be enabled in the Admin Center and the client needs to be moved to the preview channel. How to do that exactly is described in this article.

Shared Channels scenarios

If Shared Channels have been enabled, then users in Preview mode will get a new menu item when creating channels:

Teams Connect Shared Channels creation
Teams Connect Shared Channels creation

Directly during the creation you can select whether this channel should be shared with all team members. If you do not select this, you will be alone in the channel for the time being. Exactly the same as with private channels. Likewise, you have the option to add additional members directly during creation – just like with private channels.

Immediately after being added to the channel, it appears in the Teams Client for the invited external person:

Teams Connect Shared Channels invitation
Teams Connect Shared Channels invitation

Various use cases easily arise from this really simple usability:

  • Simplified collaboration with external project members
  • Simplified collaboration with colleagues within a holding structure
  • Protection against unauthorized access to data
  • Protection against unintentional access to data
  • greatly simplified access as an external user to project-related data in the other tenant
  • Cost savings, as no special access methodologies need to be provided (for example, laptop, VPN access, or similar)

So far, it can be said that Microsoft seems to have fulfilled the customers’ wishes. Above all, the elimination of the tenant switcher is an enormous relief for all those who are on the move in several tenants. This will especially please technicians who have to move around in several customer tenants, for example IT consultants.

Disadvantages of shared channels

Apps

A big criticism of the private channels feature was the lack of countless apps. The most criticized app has always been Planner. The lack of these features has required third-party products to be used. This in turn has triggered internal privacy discussions, audits or bans on third-party apps. Technically, this has good understandable reasons (no M365 Group). Those who now hope that this will get better with the Shared Channels will experience a bitter disappointment. The shared channels do not solve this shortcoming, and there are even fewer apps available:

Black Magic Cloud | sharedchan07
Teams Connect Shared Channels Apps

Guests or externals?

Many (probably almost all) tenants already work with guests and/or externals. By using Shared Channels the thought is obvious that you can invite the existing guests into the Shared Channels. This is exactly what is NOT possible! This will be a very sobering message for many. Shared Channels currently work with externals without exception. Any account that is already a guest in the tenant cannot be added to the shared channel.

This means that you have fewer management options in Azure-AD than with a guest account. It is also important to remember that when sharing with an external party, the guest rights remain unaffected. In the event of an ended collaboration (for example, due to project completion), the guest is removed – the External remains a member of the shared channel. This means that the External must be removed manually from all shared channels. Microsoft does not provide a global overview of invited externals by default.

An alternative solution for sharing documents is myMagicShare, or a new team. In any case, this means additional manual effort for the end users, as data has to be moved.

Conclusion

The shared channels are a very good means of facilitating collaboration across tenants. At the moment, important functions such as the integration of other Microsoft apps (for example, Planner) are still missing. Since the function is not yet GA, this could still change. For example, the integration of Roster Containers would be conceivable to solve this.

Regardless, shared channels are worth a close look and internal evaluation.

Black Magic Cloud | b8c7f45a5b7cc0a8e3352addf4b792be6cadd3976817db3fec1fccbb9b45fb5f 160
Andreas Hähnel
Post categories: Microsoft Teams | SharePoint
Post tags:
Teams
Neuste Beiträge:
Beiträge zu folgenden Themen (Tags):

Posts that may be of interest to you:

Lesefortschritt

Teams Connect Shared Channels

von 24 Apr, 2022Microsoft Teams, SharePoint Online

Shared Channels sind nun verfügbar

Teams Connect Shared Channels waren viele Monate eines der Topthemen unter den Microsoft 365 Kunden. Jetzt sind sie da! Die Shared Channels haben sehr viele Vorschußlorbeeren erhalten, da sie einige Nachteile der bisherigen Teams Infrastruktur und der privaten Kanäle lösen sollen:

  • in private Kanäle können nur Mitglieder eingeladen werden, die auch Mitglied des Teams sind
  • in privaten Kanälen können nur sehr wenige Apps genutzt werden
  • Um in einem Team mitzuarbeiten, das in einem anderen Tenant erstellt wurde, muss der Tenant über den Tenant Switcher im Teams gewechselt werden. Wichtige Informationen bekommt man so potentiell nicht oder zu spät mit, wenn man nicht regelmäßig in den anderen Tenants nachsieht. Eine Alarmierung über den Aktivitätenfeed gibt es nicht

Um es kurz zu machen – die Shared Channels sind nun nutzbar (in Deutschland ist der Rollout Stand 24.04. gemäß Aussage Microsoft in allen Enterprise und Business Tenants abgeschlossen). Wenn diese Funktion konfiguriert und eingerichtet ist, sieht sie beim Anwender so aus:

Teams Connect Shared Channels UI
Teams Connect Shared Channels UI

Shared Channels sind “Public Preview” – was bedeutet das?

Shared Channels sind im Moment noch nicht GA (general available)! Der GA Status bedeutet, dass ein Produkt oder eine Funktion getestet wurde und Microsoft vollen Support bietet. Diesen Status haben die Shared Channels noch nicht erreicht. Die Shared Channels sind noch im sogenannten Public Preview Status.

Public Preview bedeutet, dass eine Funktion zwar der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung steht, aber im Fehlerfall kein Support durch Microsoft erfolgt. Ebenso gibt Microsoft keine Garantien bezüglich Stabilität. Auch könnte es theoretisch jederzeit zu Funktionsänderungen kommen. Ebenso kann es noch zu eingeschränkter Funktionalität kommen.

Public Preview ist dazu gedacht, dass man sich als Kunde vorab ein Bild einer Funktion machen kann (idealerweise in einem Test Tenant!), umzu entscheiden ob diese zum GA im eigenen Tenant eingesetzt werden wird. Das bedeutet also:

Alle Aktionen für Shared Channels, die Sie in Ihrem Tenant vornehmen, unternehmen Sie auf eigene Gefahr!

Voraussetzungen

Azure B2B direct connect

Shared Channels verwenden im Hintergrund die Azure B2B Technologie, Microsoft hat hierfür vor kurzem die Azure AD Cross-Tenant access settings herausgebracht, diese beinhalten eine Funktion Namens Azure AD B2B direct connect. B2B direct connect ist die direkte Basis für die Nutzung der Shared Channels. Kurz zusammengefasst kann man sagen, dass in diesem Admin Center eine Vertrauensstellung für den Partner-Tenant eingerichtet werden muss [Anmerkung: Microsoft hatte vor Jahren eine Funktion namens Tenant friending angekündigt. B2B direct connect ist exakt diese Funktion]. Die technischen Details können hier nachgelesen werden.

Wurde diese Vertrauensstellung eingestellt, dann kann direct connect für ein Unternehmen explizit freigeschaltet werden. Wichtig hierbei zu wissen: B2B direct connect ist im Standard für alle deaktiviert! Das bedeutet, jeder “Partner”-Tenant muss explizit eingerichtet werden:

Teams Connect Shared Channels B2B direct connect defaults
B2B direct connect Einstellungen

Damit man seinen Tenant nicht pauschal für alle öffnen muss, kann man die Partner in einer eigenen Liste pflegen und individuell die Funktionen freischalten:

Teams Connect Shared Channels B2B direct individual
AAD Cross Tenant access settings – individuelle Tenanteinstellungen

Nun kann für jeden Partner individuell eingehend und ausgehend eingestellt werden, welche Funktionen genutzt werden, dies betrifft auch die Shared Channels – durch den Reiter B2B direct connect:

Teams Connect Shared Channels B2B direct connect inbound outbund
B2B direct connect individuelle Einstellungen

Teams Preview Modus

Allein die Einrichtung von B2B direct connect genügt aber nicht, es fehlt noch eine wichtige Einstellung im Teams Admin Center. Shared Channels sind nur verfügbar, wenn der Teams Client im Preview Modus ausgeführt wird. Damit diese Preview-Features im Client verfügbar werden, müssen diese im Admin Center freigeschaltet werden und der Client in den Preview Kanal verschoben werden. Wie das genau geht, wird in diesem Artikel beschrieben.

Shared Channels Einsatzszenarien

Wurden Shared Channels aktiviert, dann erhalten die Benutzer im Preview Modus einen neuen Menüpunkt bei der Erstellung von Kanälen:

Teams Connect Shared Channels creation
Teams Connect Shared Channels Erstellung

Direkt bei der Erstellung kann man auswählen, ob dieser Kanal mit allen Teams-Mitgliedern geteilt werden soll. Wählt man dies nicht aus, ist man in dem Kanal vorerst alleine. Exakt so wie bei privaten Kanälen. Ebenso hat man direkt bei der Erstellung die Möglichkeit, weitere Mitglieder hinzuzufügen – wie bei privaten Kanälen.

Direkt nach der Aufnahme in den Kanal taucht dieser bei der eingeladenen externen Person im Teams Client auf:

Teams Connect Shared Channels Einladung
Teams Connect Shared Channels Einladung

Aus dieser wirklich einfachen Nutzbarkeit ergeben sich leicht verschiedene Anwendungsfälle:

  • erleichterte Zusammenarbeit mit externen Projektmitgliedern
  • erleichterte Zusammenarbeit mit Kollegen innerhalb einer Holdingstruktur
  • Schutz vor unbefugtem Zugriff auf Daten
  • Schutz vor unbeabsichtigtem Zugriff auf Daten
  • stark vereinfachter Zugriff als Externer auf Projektdaten im anderen Tenant
  • Kostenersparnis, da keine speziellen Zugriffsmethodiken bereitgestellt werden müssen (zum Beispiel Laptop, VPN Zugang, oder ähnliche)

Man kann bis hierhin also festhalten, dass Microsoft den Wünschen der Kunden nachgekommen zu sein scheint. Vor allem der Wegfall des Tenant Switchers ist eine enorme Erleichterung für alle, die in mehreren Tenants unterwegs sind. Dies wird vor allem Techniker freuen, die sich in mehreren Kundentenants bewegen müssen, zum Beispiel IT Berater.

Nachteile der Shared Channels

Apps

Ein großer Kritikpunkt an der Funktion der privaten Kanäle war das Fehlen unzähliger Apps. Die am meisten bemängelte App war immer der Planner. Das Fehlen dieser Funktionen hat erfordert, dass Drittprodukte eingesetzt werden. Dies wiederum hat interne Datenschutzdiskussionen ausgelöst, Prüfungen oder Verbote von Dritt-Apps. Technisch gesehen hat dies gute nachvollziehbare Gründe (keine M365 Group). Wer nun die Hoffnung hat, dass dies mit den Shared Channels besser wird, wird eine herbe Enttäuschung erleben. Die Shared Channels lösen dieses Manko nicht, es sind sogar weniger Apps verfügbar:

Black Magic Cloud | sharedchan07
Teams Connect Shared Channels Apps

Gäste oder Externe?

Viele (wahrscheinlich fast alle) Tenants arbeiten bereits mit Gästen und/oder Externen. Durch den Einsatz von Shared Channels liegt der Gedanke nahe, dass man die bestehenden Gäste in die Shared Channels einladen kann. Genau dies geht NICHT! Dies wird für viele eine sehr ernüchternde Botschaft sein. Shared Channels funktionieren aktuell ausnahmslos mit Externen. Jeder Account, der bereits ein Gast im Tenant ist, kann nicht zum Shared Channel hinzugefügt werden.

Das bedeutet, dass man Azure-AD seitig weniger Verwaltungsmöglichkeiten hat, als bei einem Gast-Account. Ebenso muss man bedenken, dass beim Teilen mit einem Externen die Gastrechte unberührt bleiben. Im Falle einer beendeten Zusammenarbeit (beispielsweise wegen Projektabschluss) wird der Gast entfernt – der Externe bleibt Mitglied des Shared Channels. Das bedeutet, dass der Externe separat aus allen Shared Channels entfernt werden muss. Eine globale Übersicht über eingeladenen Externen gibt es im Standard nicht von Microsoft.

Ein alternativer Lösungsansatz zum Teilen von Dokumenten ist myMagicShare, oder aber auch ein neues Team. In jedem Fall bedeutet dies händischen Mehraufwand bei den Endanwendern, da ein Umzug von Daten stattfinden muss.

Fazit

Die Shared Channels sind ein sehr gutes Mittel um eine erleichterte Zusammenarbeit tenantübergreifend zu realisieren. Im Moment fehlen noch wichtige Funktionen wie das Einbinden weiterer Microsoft Apps (zum Beispiel Planner). Da die Funktion noch nicht GA ist, könnte sich dies noch ändern. Denkbar wäre beispielsweise die Einbindung von Roster Containern um dies zu lösen.

Unabhängig davon sind Shared Channels einen genauen Blick und interne Bewertung wert.

Beitrags Kategorien: Microsoft Teams | SharePoint Online
Beitrags-Tags:
Teams
Neuste Beiträge:
Beiträge zu folgenden Themen (Tags):

Beiträge, die für Sie interessant sein könnten: